John DizikesSince 2002, The Humanities Deans have provided students with the opportunity to honor the teaching efforts of faculty in the humanities by nominating them for the $3,000 John Dizikes Teaching Award in Humanities.  Nominations are submitted to the nominee’s department chair who selects one to be forwarded to the Dean with their endorsement.  The final selection is made by an ad hoc committee of peer faculty.

Past Award Recipients:

2002 Bruce Thompson – Lecturer in History
2003 Gail Hershatter – Professor of History
2004 Jocelyn Hoy – Lecturer in Philosophy and Feminist Studies
2005 Gildas Hamel – SOE Lecturer in Language Studies
2006 Jaye Padgett – Professor of Linguistics
2007 Chris Connery – Professor of Literature
2008 Jody Greene - Associate Professor of Literature
2009 Cynthia Polecritti - Associate Professor of History
2010 Daniel Selden - Professor of Literature
2011 Jorge Hankamer - Professor of Linguistics

In addition to the $3,000 award, each recipient will have the honor of selecting a Sophomore or Junior student who will receive a $3,000 scholarship in their name. 

Past Scholarship Recipients:

Shelby Polakoff – 2002 Bruce Thompson Scholarship
Joshua Townsend – 2003 Gail B. Hershatter Scholarship
Nathalie Yonga – 2004 Jocelyn B. Hoy Scholarship
Andrew P. Zawislanski – 2005 Gildas Hamel Scholarship
Gilad Gressel – 2006 Jaye Padgett Scholarship
Kenan Sharp – 2007 Chris Connery Scholarship
Rocio Claudia Osuna - 2008 Jody Greene Scholarship
Cynthia Thickpenny - 2009 Cynthia Polecritti Scholarship
Patrick Stange - 2010 Daniel Selden Scholarship
Matilda Morrison - 2011 Jorge Hankamer Scholarship

Instructions and Nomination Forms